A hot Chihuahua is not so hot

June 1, 2011 § Leave a comment


Pheeeeeeew! It is definitely that muy caliente time of year here in Florida. Let’s just say that the last few days, I’ve been feeling less than fresh as a daisy during my morning walks. Actually, I’ve been looking more like a wilted petunia. Perspiration is definitely not my thing. Mama says that my tongue hanging out and dragging is not terribly chic. So she’s been kindly picking me up when I start to pant and carrying me the rest of the way until we get inside and back to my cool water bowl. And the way it is going, it looks like this summer will be a real hot one. So we looked up some tips on keeping the precious chica cool and safe and we thought we’d share the with you, amigos.

Among my favorites from the ASPCA:

1. Give your pet a summer ‘do’ – I personally am short-haired, but my leeetle heart breaks for my amigos with the long locks.

2. Stay off the hot asphalt – us pups are a lot closer to the ground and the worst of that heat. In particular, at my “elevation” it is hotter than my abuela’s hot tamales!

Getting the picture?

3. Provide shade and water – bring my Evian please! Don’t leave home without it, and properly chilled, muchachos!!

4. Watch for dehydration and overheating –  this one is REALLY serious! To quote the scary warning:

Symptoms of  overheating in pets include excessive panting, difficulty breathing, increased heart rate, drooling, weakness, stupor and even collapse, according to the ASPCA website. In more severe cases, pets can have seizures, bloody diarrhea and vomiting.  

5. And of course NEVER leave your pet in the car!!  – Just check out how quickly things can get dangerous inside a car.

For more great information on caring for your pets during the summer, check out the full article: Keeping your pets safe in hot weather from Patch.com, or go right to the ASPCA website. Stay safe out there, chicos!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A hot Chihuahua is not so hot at Chihuahua Wisdom Blog.

meta

