Chihuahua swimming lessons?

July 19, 2010 § 1 Comment


So I must admit that swimming has never been a real delight for me. Though my petite, diminutive size makes me quite “floaty” I do have short legs and that makes for a whole lot of doggy paddling to get across the pool. Way too mucho work for this chica!!! I’d rather watch. I prefer to have my humans hold me while I splash in the cool, refreshing water. Then, when I get a little shivery, I’d rather relax sunning my shiny brown coat poolside with a drink and snack ready on hand.

But I’ve been inspired by this cute video of an orphan otter taking swimming lessons at the Florida Aquarium. Meet Agnes:

Otter swimming lessons

She does make it look like fun. Of course, for a treat I’d do anything too. But there is a little resemblance in our well-crafted, sleek build. Maybe if I learn to use my tail like she does I can get better and more fluid in the water. OK, don’t laugh. I know it is not much of a tail.

Oh, well. It is summer and the weather is quite toasty here in Florida. It is worth a try as long as all these aquatic acrobatics don’t mess up my princess composure. I have an image to maintain!

Another inspiring bathing beauty, Snooty the Manatee, turned 62 this weekend! Let’s wish him a Happy Birthday.

Feliz cumpleaños, Snooty!

And finally, with this aquatic theme in mind, let’s keep our paws crossed and our happy thoughts strong in hopes that the oil spill containment efforts succeed. I hear rumblings about seeping, well pressure and officials disagreeing about what to do next with the “capped” well. Let’s just be careful, people!! We have a lot of work to do to clean up this mess. And the sooner ALL of the focus can be shifted to the recovery efforts the better!

Tagged:

§ One Response to Chihuahua swimming lessons?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chihuahua swimming lessons? at Chihuahua Wisdom Blog.

meta

