Mom is back home and all is well in my Chihuahua world again

July 10, 2010 § 1 Comment


I must apologize for the long gap, my friends. Mom went on her trip to New York City and I’m afraid in her absence it is a little tough for me to manage the laptop all on my own. But as soon as we got through our reunion last night (and I got tons of belly scratches to make up for lost time), I told her we’d need to catch up with everyone right away.

Chanel the Chihuahua says, "Whoops! Did I do that?"

Whoops! Did I do that?

So while Mom was away, I kept guard over the house. I maintained a faithful vigil for her return. I was the model of dog perfection – constant, loyal, reliable … well, OK, mostly reliable. There may have been a few mishaps. Dad says I was acting up. But really, it was my big brother, Señor Gato who took advantage of the situation. Whoever said while the cat’s away the mice will play forgot to add that when Mom is away, the cat will scheme. Tigger kept terrorizing me when Dad was not looking. Like a good puppy, I’d try to get to my Potty Pads when I had to go and there was no one home to take me out. But the cat would just “happen” to be there, right between me and my pad, with that wicked menacing look on his face. I did not need my mind reading powers to figure out there were pouncing intentions behind those cold, calculating eyes.  I waited as long as I could but sometimes there was an inevitable little mess. I tried to be discreet and hide. But Dad found out and didn’t buy my story. And the cat, well he just gloated at my distress.

Hey, need I point out that there was no aggression expressed on my part upon shoes, important papers or furnishings. I even made it through the loud, scary fireworks without incident or much theatrics. A little shaking, that’s all. I really did try to be good. And besides, I was soooooo deprived! Dad does not believe in Cheerios as part of my daily balanced diet. Think about it, Mom. We could have avoided all of this if you’d just taken me with you. Just picture it:

Chanel the Chihuahua at Conney Island

Conney Island for Fourth of July

Chanel the Chihuahua at the Met

An evening at the Met!

Chanel the Chihuahua on Broadway

I can just picture my name in lights ...

In any case, I’m glad Mom is home. And listen up, Mr. Cato! Things are back to normal around here and that means I’m the Princess in charge again!! Watch out, Meeeester!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Mom is back home and all is well in my Chihuahua world again

  • AYE says:

    Dear Chanelita,
    AYE understands your loooong trauma waiting for Mami to return home.
    I feel for you.

    Danielle’s choice of Universities, I enjoy the Glynns
    more then ever!!!!! Of course, you and Sr. Gato have yet to visit KC, and
    reunite with your sister Juanita and step-sister Panchita. My love to all..AYE

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mom is back home and all is well in my Chihuahua world again at Chihuahua Wisdom Blog.

meta

