Chihuahua on double guard duty

June 9, 2010 § 5 Comments


Dastardly squirrel on the roofSo Mom and Dad are redoing the back porch. And well, lets just say that the scope of the project suddenly grew as many home improvement projects do, from just cleaning and painting to now include replacing all the screens of the enclosure. And never mind the fact that the humans are still debating paint colors (the house is starting to look a lot like a dalmatian with different test spots all over the walls.) The bigger deal is that in the meantime, the screens are gone and thus the lanai is off-limits to me and me and Señor Gato. No muy happy here.

And what does this mean? Well you know how curious nature’s critters can get when things change around their home surroundings. Now all these nosy neighbors of mine are coming around to check out the “goings on.” And they are not shy at all. Check out who I just caught spying from the roof this morning: public enemy #1, the dastardly squirrel, sitting there taunting me with her tail twitches and flickers. Argh!!!! Many indignant snorts and livid glares were exchanged.

Lizard infiltratorAnd then came this brazen infiltrator – a slinky and shifty lizard. The nerve!! This new antagonist just walked right up to MY sliding glass doors to confront me as if he now owned the place!! With all his posturing, tongue flicking and stuff. How dare he?!?!?!

Chanel the Chihuahua in a standoff with a trespasserOh, but  don’t worry, I stared him right down. OK, so in my case, I stared him right across but quite furiously. And he blinked first!

I think I’ll spend the rest of the day on increased patrols. And I’ll talk to el Gato about tag teaming on the effort. We are officially on double guard-the-lanai-from-intruders duty until further notice. Let us know if you see any suspicious characters or activities around the perimeter. This is serious!!!

Chanel the Chihuahua on guard dutyOh, and P.S.: Mom, I hope you know that all these extra guard dog shifts are to be repaid in Cheerios!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Chihuahua on double guard duty

  • nadiaqh says:

    I just found your blog on tag surfer… so glad! we have chihuahuas and lizards as pets… plus a great garden. love that little dog… too cute!

    • Glad you found me. You’ll have to share a peeeeeecture of your critters. I have been working my little paws to exhaustion spreading the word. Trying to keep up on all fronts – just look for ChihuahuaWisdom (Twitter), Chanel the Chihuahua Wisdom Diva (FB fan page) or Chanel Glynn (Facebook) so you can get updates. And share with your amigos. Contrary to popular belief, like all the chihuahuas I know, I’m actually a very friendly chica. And I love to hear from folks. Adios for now, amiga.

  • nadiaqh says:

    chihuahua sister
    here is my Flicker photo of my two chihuahuas! just joined your twitter 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chihuahua on double guard duty at Chihuahua Wisdom Blog.

meta

